Historic Hills Scenic Byway

scenic-byway-signMagnificent state forests welcome you to the Historic Hills Scenic Byway which takes travelers on a journey through Wapello, Appanoose, Davis, Van Buren and Lee counties. Following the winding roads of the byway will introduce you to the people and scenery of southeastern Iowa.

The 110-mile scenic byway begins from the North on Wapello County Road T-61 at U.S. 34 north of Blakesburg. It curves southeasterly on back roads past farmsteads near the communities of Drakesville and Bloomfield in Davis County where Old Order Amish go about their traditional ways.

The newest section starts on Appanoose County Road J-3T in Moravia and runs southeasterly to the current byway route in Drakesville.  The route then wanders through Troy in Davis County and the historic villages of Keosauqua, Bentonsport, Bonaparte, and Farmington in Van Buren County. From Farmington, the route goes to Donnellson in Lee County where it ends.

Spend a day enjoying southern Iowa countryside while exploring quaint communities and unique businesses that you’ll discover along the byway.

Visit the Historic Hills Scenic Byway website